Layers

Dig deeper

Into my mind and soul

Listen carefully to what I say

And even closer to what is unsaid

I’m not really a difficult person to read

There are layers of me you should really see

I know there is a part of you than rarely shows

And it’s never spoken out loud but in your smile

Barely hidden beneath your public persona

Fears and hope and dreams so beautiful

That you sparkle beneath the surface

Like a diamond on black velvet

Like the sun behind a cloud

I hope to fly some day

Above the mist

To gaze easily

At who you

Are

One thought on “Layers

Leave a Reply

