Distant Focus

Distant Focus

Distant Focus

To look beyond my reach

Is a foolish exercise

Focus can clarify

Or it can blind

Fuzzy images near

Crystalline views in the distance

Can only confound and confuse my mind

I wonder if I walk toward the distant horizon

Then look back if all the amorphous red blurs

Will sharpen and become the clarity I seek

Nothing is easy nor should it be in truth

It may just be that the exploration

The seeking of truth may be

In such close proximity

I need only look

And listen

to my

heart

5 thoughts on “Distant Focus

  1. Hi Paul,
    I loved the image, but I particulary loved the words you wrote and those words that touched me at this time when I am working through my sadness over the passing of Hawkins are: “The seeking of truth may be/In such close proximity/I need only look/And listen/to my/heart.” Thank you for sharing!

  2. Thank you for the photo, it has a fiery tranquility. I feel at times in life we face the same thing. When we are in the midst of something, sometimes we can focus on only one aspect of a situation, either the fire or the tranquil. Yet when we further ourselves from the situation the power may not be as strong but the whole picture comes into focus. Thank you for your poem it has helped me view my situation in life with deeper understanding.

  3. “I wonder if I walk toward the distant horizon

    Then look back if all the amorphous red blurs

    Will sharpen and become the clarity I seek”

    How profound are these words…

Leave a Reply

